Cross Stitch, Home & Family TO BE FIXED, Works in Progress

The Quilting Conspiracy

OK, I am starting to get a bit paranoid that there really is some kind of quilting conspiracy happening around here … quilting is everywhere!!  And places where it just really shouldn’t be!! 

Today I received the May newsletter for the Embroiderers Guild … and what do I find in there but the following advert:  “The Patchworkers’ and Quilters’ Guild of Victoria is holding its annual quilt exhibition at the Glen Eira City Council Gallery, on the corner Glen Eira and Hawthorn Roads, Glen Iris, dates 17-20 May, between 10am-5pm.”  Not only that, but I just flicked quickly through a few blogs on my Newsgator feeds that I lurk on, and wander over to read the new post by Beadlust – normally amazing eye candy of arty beading projects, today it’s full of quilting projects (like journal quilts) from a recent exhibition … hmmm, do you think someone is trying to tell me something?? LOL.

It’s almost like when I first bought my current heap of cr*p car when I moved to Aussie – my dream car at the time was a Mazda Protege 323 … I actually found one that I really liked on the same car lot that I bought the infamous heap of cr*p Nissan, but it was $1000 more than my Nissan, and a few years older, so I didn’t think it was worth the extra expense.  When I told Frazier’s best mate “S” about the car is really wanted (ie the Mazda) he talked me out of it as supposedly it was hard to get parts in Aussie for them as they’re imported and you don’t see that many around … now, “S” really knows his stuff about cars (or so I thought), so I took him at his word, and started looking at alternatives to my beloved Mazda (I actually think my last Mazda cost me less in about 13 years of driving than this Nissan has cost me in 3, and my Dad is still driving it to this day!!).  It was, of course, Murphy’s Law that the very next day after signing the contracts and driving my new heap of cr*p car that every third car that I drove past in the street was a Mazda!  Let’s just say that to this very day “S’s” name is Mud with a capital M (as well as for many many other reasons that are more personal, but I digress …).

These days, of course, I’m stuck with the heap of cr*p Nissan for a while longer yet … my goal is that I only have to put up with it for another 3 years, as that’s when I’d really love to be in a better position to upgrade to something I really love.  And there’s no points for guessing which car it will be … not a Protege, but definitely a ‘323’ (or as they now call it, a Mazda “3”) … this one is without a doubt my absolute dream car, and has been for a couple of years now – the colour is not negotiable, of course … if I had one of these I think I’d even sleep with it, I love it so much!!! My heart melts every time I see one on the road {{heavy sigh}}.  I really need to win Lotto!  Mind you, I suppose if I actually bought a ticket it’d increase my chances of winning somewhat 😉

 

Oh boy, I could sit and look at that picture all night!!!  But in fact I have much more important things to do … I have stitching to do!!  And I’d better hurry up and do it soon, as my energy levels are flagging rapidly – doing a 10-hour shift on a 5am start used to be so easy when I did overtime regularly, but it nearly killed me today … I’d better keep busy so I don’t get lulled into having a nanna nap, otherwise I’ll never sleep tonight.  I’ll update later when I have a progress piccie to share, as it’s Bordeaux night for me (I did another 1 1/2 hours on EGM last night, not that you can tell so I won’t bother with a piccie of that for now).

I can’t remember whether I’ve done this meme before, but the results turned out to be pretty accurate … and at least it didn’t mention quilting! 😉 

Your Element Is Water

A bit of a contradiction, you can seem both lighthearted and serious.
That’s because you’re good at going with the flow – but you also are deep.Highly intuitive, you tune in to people’s emotions and moods easily.
You are able to tap into deep emotional connections and connect with others.You prefer a smooth, harmonious life – but you can navigate your way around waves.
You have a knack for getting people to get along and making life a little more peaceful.

What’s Your Element?

Updated to add a piccie of Bordeaux … I only had 1/2 hour left to stitch tonight as I forgot I needed to cook dinner … but the TV has been to blame thank for extra stitching time.  It’s the Biggest Loser final tonight – and I made the HUGE mistake of leaving the TV on while I set the video taping for Mum to watch later … and started watching it … well, I could hardly go to bed without seeing the rest of it huh?  I didn’t want anyone at work to tell me who won … so I’ll be Miss Cranky Pants tomorrow as I’ll be going to bed 2 hours later than I should be … oops 😉

It’s my hope to totally finish this band during next week’s session, but I’m not 100% sure I can reach that goal … I’ll have fun trying, though 🙂

10 thoughts on “The Quilting Conspiracy”

  1. Oh Anne…..I have a Mazda 323 Astina & I love it! I used to have a heap of c*ap Nissan too & it WAS a heap. I was very happy to get rid of it. I’ve had my Mazda for OMG 15 years this year & it has hardly cost me anything to maintain although now it’s starting to show it’s age somewhat.

  2. One of my gfs has a 3 and she loves it (I love it too but I have to stay loyal to my Astra).

    Bordeaux is looking just gorgeous.

    There does seem to be a lot of quilting about at the moment. I’m hoping I’m immune.

  3. I have a Mazda3 TS for the last 2 years, first car I’ve bought from new. I love it to bits. Japanese technology. I’ve already sold it too when I’ve finished with it….to Mum & Dad! Keep the dream alive, you never know one day. 🙂
    Bordeaux is coming along beautifully.

  4. Nice car! I learned to drive in a Mazda 323 (in Melbourne).

    I’m a huge fan of Toyota. We’ve had 2 toyotas – one was an SUV, and the other is a Corolla (our current car). I will never hesitate to buy a Toyota. I don’t seem to see as many Mazdas around here as I do Toyotas.

  5. I’ve owned that same Mazda 3 for about 6000 miles now and love love it. Be sure you get it with the side curtain airbags…I’m hoping you’ll get it soon. You can also hook your ipod right into it! No extra purchases, except a 10.00 wire from Radio Shack. The stereo sounds great! We’d always owned Honda and Toyota, but, decided to try this car and so far so good!

  6. I agree – it is a conspiracy! I even bought fat quarters of QUILTING fabric the other day!!!! I have no idea why – I WILL NOT QUILT! It’s far too mathematical for me who is numerically dyslexic….!

Comments are closed.